Warsaurus

Lifestyle, Travel, Beauty, Reviews.

Theatre Review: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time

Leave a comment

For as far back as I care to recall I have held a love for theatre. I’ve seen a wide range from stunning musicals; one which originally started out as Wizard of Oz fan fiction, another an interestingly staged dark humour play, I admit I only when to see because of the star-studded cast.
But on Friday night, my theatre expectations were blown to pieces and rebuild higher than before.
I have strived to make this post spoiler free!

 

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time

For years my family has owned a book called The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time. One of those you vaguely recall enjoying as you read it, and its sat on a shelf since. However, when I found out that the National Theatre’s Curious play was coming on tour to my city’s stage, I found the book and re-read it before booking my tickets.
Good gracious.
I was not disappointed.
For those who don’t know, Curious Incident tells the story of an exciting murder mystery adventure through the extraordinary eyes of Christopher, a fifteen year old boy with Asperger’s Syndrome. He loves maths and astronauts and hates the colours yellow and brown and being touched.
Because the story centres around Christopher’s perceptions of the world the scriptwriter knew that the play would have to bring those experiences to its audience. The original author, Mark Haddon, doubted his novel could be adapted for the stage or screen, but was miraculously and very successfully proved wrong.
In 2015 alone, it has won four outstanding play awards, including the prestigious Tony Awards for Best Play, Actor, Director, Scenic Design, Lighting and Choreography. This comes alongside its seven Olivier awards in 2013!

 

 

Using electronic sound, light and dark, motion choreography and incredible performances by talented actors, the audience is drawn into Christopher’s mind as he solves the mystery of the dog which takes him so much further than the end of his street.
And you leave with Christopher drawn into your heart. Five stars!

Author: Warsaurus

Hello and welcome to Warsaurus! My name is Rachel and I am a Masters student with a passion for beauty and skincare, exploring new places and sharing my thoughts and opinions. I spend my time drinking coffee, reading anything I can get my hands on, and lusting after the life I am trying to achieve for myself. This blog is my own form of self-publishing for those things which ignite and inspire me.

Leave a comment